Monday, April 14, 2014

Joy Harjo: 2014 Guggenheim Fellow

We are so happy that our friend, Joy Harjo, is a recipient of a 2014 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship. In its ninetieth annual competition for the United States and Canada, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has awarded 177 Fellowships (including one joint Fellowship) to a diverse group of 178 scholars, artists, and scientists. Appointed on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise, the successful candidates were chosen from a group of almost 3,000 applicants. Congratulations Joy!

Thursday, April 03, 2014

Faculty Feature: Dan Mueller

"Dan brings a style, energy, and expectation to the class that is inspiring. He is a superb teacher." - 2013 Workshop Participant 

We are so pleased to welcome back Dan Mueller this year, who will be teaching a weekend workshop he's calling Memoir as FictionIn this workshop, you will look to your own lives for the material of your fiction. You'll also look to memoir for the narrative and poetical strategies that lend credibility to your stories and induce a reader’s willing suspension of disbelief. Ultimately, you’ll amaze each other with the magic to be found in your own—at least, to us—humdrum lives.

Dan Mueller is the author of two collections of short stories, How Animals Mate (Overlook Press, 1999), which won the Sewanee Fiction Prize, and Nights I Dreamed of Hubert Humphrey (Outpost 19 Books, 2013). His work has appeared in The Missouri Review, Story Quarterly, The Iowa Review, Joyland, Joyland Retro, Prairie Schooner, Gargoyle, CutBank, Surreal South, The Cincinnati Review, Another Chicago Magazine, Story, The Mississippi Review, The Crescent Review, Playboy, and other journals and anthologies. He is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, Massachusetts Cultural Council, Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Henfield Foundation, University of Virginia, and Iowa Writers’ Workshop. He currently directs the creative writing program at the University of New Mexico and teaches on the creative writing faculty of the Low-Residency MFA Program at Queens University of Charlotte.  

Tuesday, April 01, 2014

Les Standiford and Prose Structure

Les Standiford will be teaching a weeklong workshop that is all about how to make readers want to "turn the page." The class is designed for writers of fiction, memoir, and narrative nonfiction alike. Les has published in all three genres and says that learning how to drive tension through narrative structure has made all the difference in his career.

"As the author of twenty books and the founding director of two university creative writing programs, I think that an understanding of how to create and maintain narrative drive is the most important tool for a writer wishing to engage an audience," Les says.

This class will explore the techniques of compelling storytelling common to all the prose narrative forms. You will emphasize specific shaping and revising techniques, including identifying the "DNA" of the material, choice of the most effective jumping off point, pacing of the "dreaded middle," and the ultimate "closing of the circle."So, if you are looking for ways to up the tension in your narrative structure, this is the class for you.

Les Standiford is the author of Bringing Adam Home: The Abduction that Changed America, a 2011 New York Times bestseller and a #1 Wall Street Journal true-crime bestseller. He is the recipient of Fellowships in Fiction from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Florida Arts Council as well as the Frank O’Connor Award for Short Fiction. He is Director of the Creative Writing Program at Florida International University in Miami, where he lives with his wife Kimberly, an artist and psychotherapist.

Monday, March 31, 2014

Poet Richard Vargas and The Writer's Almanac

April is National Poetry Month and The Writer's Almanac is kicking it off with a poem from the 2011 TSWC Hispanic Writer Awardee, Richard Vargas. Garrison Keillor will be reading from Vargas's book, Guernica, Revisited. The show airs in Albuquerque on KANW, 89.1, tomorrow, April 1st, around 8:15 AM. Be sure to tune in and enjoy!

Thursday, March 27, 2014

A Short History of Decay: Michael Maren's New Film

A Short History of Decay will have its theatrical premier on MAY 16, in New York City at the Village East Cinema. The film is a comedy from an original script by Michael Maren, about a failed Brooklyn writer, Nathan Fisher, played by Bryan Greenberg, who visits his ailing parents in Florida. Check out the newest trailer on their Facebook page. Congrats, Michael!

Michael Maren spent 17 years as a war correspondent in Africa and the Middle East before hanging up his flak jacket and taking a crack at Hollywood. He’s written screenplays for HBO, Sony and a number of independent projects, working with Chris Tucker, Reese Witherspoon and others. He recently completed production on A Short History of Decay which he wrote and directed. The film was executive produced by Milos Forman and stars Linda Lavin, Bryan Greenberg, Harris Yulin and Emmanuelle Chriqui. It just had its premier at the Hamptons International Film Festival. He is teaching a Weeklong Screenwriting Workshop at the Conference this summer.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Sophie's House of Cards by Sharon Oard Warner

We are thrilled to reveal the cover for Conference founder and director, Sharon Oard Warner's, new novel, Sophie's House of Cards, forthcoming from the University of New Mexico Press in Fall 2014. Sophie's House of Cards is a book that B.K Loren calls "a charming and deeply compassionate novel."

Want to know more? Sharon has a new website up, which talks about Sophie, and among other things, tells the fascinating tale of her time living in Dallas during the Kennedy assassination. Read it. You won't be able to stop. (Plus, you get to see the cutest photo of eleven-year-old Sharon!)

Congratulations, Sharon, on the new book and the new website. We can't wait to read Sophie's House of Cards next fall!

Friday, March 14, 2014

BK Loren's THEFT as the Utah-Lit Book Club Pick for March 2014!

The city of Salt Lake, UT has selected Theft by our beloved faculty member, BK Loren, as the Utah-Lit book club pick for March 2014! The Salt Lake Tribune is having an online discussion about Theft. The online live chat will be Friday, March 28, at 12:15 PM and you can participate by going here. Congrats BK!